THE MANTRAS

Photobucket
When my friend Kenn Mogel, guitar pedal guru, The Tone Monk, told me he would be coming through Frederick, Maryland on a tour stop with psychedelic/prog rock band The Mantras, I just knew it was worth a night out. The trendy little restaurant Cafe Nola played host to the band, and although the space was a bit cramped for a group like Mantra, the place was soon swaying to the intricate and hypnotic music that filled the eager ears and minds of those present. For me, it was flashback time, to the days of my youth, when I followed The Grateful Dead, Hot Tuna and The Quicksilver Messenger Service at every chance I got- ……and while the computer generated light show didn’t have quite the organic feel of the good old days, it was certainly a trip down memory lane. PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Leave a Reply

